DWI/DUI Lawyer In Fayette County

In Georgia, you can be arrested and charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs even if those drugs were lawfully prescribed by your doctor. The penalties associated with a DWI/DUI conviction can be quite harsh ― even for first-time offenders. The penalties are different for those under the age of 21 and truck drivers. Also, a DWI/DUI conviction may prevent you from having certain jobs and licenses, including a pilot, a doctor or a commercial vehicle driver.

The severity and complexity of these potential penalties merely underscores the need to contact an aggressive attorney who will fight for your rights when you are facing allegations of drunk or drugged driving.

At The Law Office of Skyler A. Taylor, P.C., you can count on us to provide dedicated, knowledgeable and thorough legal guidance. From beginning to end, attorney Skyler A. Taylor will be your main point of contact and will handle your DWI/DUI case personally. We take great efforts to provide our clients with a defense that is tailored to fit their specific situation and legal needs.

DWI/DUI Penalties In Georgia

First-time DWI/DUI offenders can face several penalties under Georgia law if convicted, including:

  • Possible jail time
  • License suspension of up to one year
  • A fine ranging from $300 to $1,000
  • Mandatory community service of 40 hours
  • A license reinstatement fee of $210

These penalties quickly increase for repeat offenders. For instance, a second DWI/DUI conviction within 10 years will result in a minimum of 72 hours in jail as well as an increased license suspension of up to three years, a fine of $600 to $1,000, at least 30 days of community service and the possible installation of an ignition interlock device.

It is important to remember, however, that, following a DWI/DUI arrest, you may be subject to penalties in Georgia even if you have not yet been convicted of the underlying criminal offense. In fact, if you refuse to submit to a breath test or other alcohol or drug testing after being arrested ― or if you take a test and fail ― your driver's license can be suspended by the Georgia Department of Driver Services.

If you have questions about DWI/DUI law in Georgia following a drunk driving arrest, The Law Office of Skyler A. Taylor, P.C., can provide legal assistance.

Seek The Guidance Of An Experienced DWI/DUI Lawyer

For a FREE initial consultation with a skilled DWI/DUI attorney, call us at 678-671-8745 or reach out to us online. While our office is located in Peachtree City, we assist clients throughout the surrounding areas, including those located in Fayette County, Coweta County and Spalding County.